February Music Playlist

For a special tribute to February, this month’s release of the Global Cycling Playlist caters to both slogging miles and sloshing snow.  I’ll leave the exact usage up to you.

Global Cycling Music Playlist (February 2015)

Easy there Nairo, it’s only February.

50 songs, 3hrs 4min (thus far).
One song was omitted since it’s not on Spotify:
“In Your Head” by Bob Bradley, Matt Sanchez, Steve Dymond, and Giuseppe De Luca is not on Spotify, but it’s worth the download to your library and is arguably one of the best of the 50.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to February Music Playlist

  1. Hi, found your blog. I am 40, female, former competitive runner and cyclist. How are you doing these days? I have exercise induced idiopathic vtach, and I have an ICD one year old. I am back at running, at a lower level. Take a low dose of meds. Hope to hear from you. Natasha

    • thewaywardcyclist says:

      Hi Natasha, sounds like we both got our tech-upgrades around the same time. Technically, I’m also idiopathic until the science gets better. Did you have any ablations? Were they successful? After mine I went a year without any episode but the ICD appeased pessimistic doctors, seemed like a ‘safety net’ to other doctors, and gives my family that added security. I tried medications before the ablations and the side effects were worse than the symptoms. However, the drugs especially effect everyone very differently. If I was higher risk, or in poor health otherwise, I would try to make the medicine go down, but after the epicardial ablation everything was ticking along nicely. But again, everyone is different. Perhaps once they can classify the ‘idiopathic’ group more scientifically we will know which subset and which treatment protocols we should identify with and prescribe to.

      As for updates, it’s on my to-do list. It’s no secret and there are no tricks around it, but having a 1-year-old scoops a handful out of the thimble of free we typically have. Therefore the blog has taken a hit, but stay tuned.
      -John

  2. Natasha Latona says:

    I just had a successful ablation 8 weeks ago. I had a scar in the right ventricle that was causing the vtach. I sought out the best doctor (in Boston) at BWH. He was able to induce the VT and had to go in the inside and outside of my heart to ablate it. The VT was coming from this area only (right ventricle apex). I was not inducible after – so deemed a success.

    For two years I struggled on the beta blockers which made me feel terrible and made running even worse. I have an ICD. I remain undiagnosed – meet no criteria for anything yet my EKG remains abnormal. They are not sure where the scar came from.

    I was given the go ahead just two days ago to completely come off all medication (I was on a very reduced dose for 6 weeks after surgery). I hope that the VT does not come back. I am looking forward to having my body back and running again and maybe even getting on the bike. On the beta blockers, exercise felt terrible although I pushed through for two long years.

    I am 40 and a former competitive runner and cyclist. It is scary to come off the drugs as I feel they were a bit of a psychological crutch for me but I hated them! Happy to be off, grateful for the ablation and hoping that the VT does not return.

    I hope some of your followers and you update this site as I would love to know how you all are doing after your ablations!

    • Anonymous says:

      Thanks for checking in Natasha – and also reminding me how terrible I am at updating the blog. Oops! Maybe we’ll chalk it up to, “no news is good news”. Some trips planned for summer ’16 with bike in tow, so hopefully I can get back on track.

      I can relate to your experience on beta-blockers. I was on beta-blockers for a short period after my first ablation when the procedure actually made my arrhythmia worse (much more frequent, but shorter in duration). My arrhythmia only surfaces under stress or activity (a very minor part of the overall day) so when I tried Beta-blockers I felt terrible all the time, 24 hours a day, as opposed to a few minutes of the day. At the time, my rhythm was not ‘dangerous’ and usually self-terminated. My goal was to fix the rhythm, not to medicate it. My EP felt that fixing the rhythm was very possible as well.

      Of course, there are many, many instances and circumstances where beta-blockers are the perfect fix or a necessity. Thankfully, the ablations worked out and my rhythm is very good at this point. But you are never fully ‘out in the clear’ and if I have only one more slip in rhythm – it’s back on the table for another epicardial ablation – definitely not something anyone would wish for so I try to tread lightly. The endocardial cardiac ablation is super easy, but the epicardial stuff takes some grit and endurance.

      Best of luck,
      -John

Write a Comment

