Video from the Pyrenees!


Note: Be sure to watch it in full screen @ 720p for full enjoyment.
10 hours before this video I was unable to open my eyes from allergies (didn’t know I had any!) I was reduced to lying in bed at the hotel with sunglasses on and even tried placing chamomile teabags over my eyes. Regardless, it’s a good thing you can’t see my red, swollen, chapped eyes that gave me a nice little preview of what I’ll look like when I’m 80. To make matters worse, I discovered my brand new tubular tires didn’t hold air for more than 1 hour. Didn’t think I’d even bother waking up for the event. But I did, pumped in some PitStop and held my breath. As I stood at the start, a few drops of rain hit my helmet and I was convinced that I’d be back cozy in bed within the hour! After 70km, I thought I was completely done… but after taking it “easy” up Tourmalet (1hr:15m) and resting on the descent, I was miraculously resurrected. Still managed 52nd out of 1250 with 700 or so doing the big 170km 4-valley loop included l’Hourquette d’Ancizan, Col du Tourmalet, and Col d’Aspin (2 of which were part of yesterday’s stage 12 in Le Tour).

This entry was posted in France, Pyrenees, Ride Reports, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Video from the Pyrenees!

  1. Pingback: Retrospective: On The Road In…. Les Pyrénées « The Wayward Cyclist

  2. Pingback: If Cycling Had A “Blue Screen Of Death”, This Is What It Would Look Like… | The Wayward Cyclist

  3. Dana R says:

    Just moved to the area (East Baldwin) and found you/your website on Strava after going up (well, more like dying up) Douglas Mtn climb and seeing your KOM. Impressive climbing both in this video and around here.

Write a Comment

