Some New Climbing Gear… (Reynolds, MCFK, Veloflex)

My Reynolds clinchers seem to get stage fright as soon as I hit the “register” button for any bike event. This time was no different with the DT240s freehub body imploding after a long climb the day after registering for 2 sportives. I’ve used DT240’s for years and know that it’s not standard practice for them to fail after 7 months. Here’s a video:

Looks like Reynolds will replace it but since I’ve moving in 1 month, I’ll probably wait and send them in for repair in August when I’ll have a stable mailing address.
In the meantime, it looked like a great opportunity to finally get my hands on some nice tubular wheels. With any luck, I’ll have just a few more 400-level classes to complete my degree in bike-snobbery. Here’s my schedule for this semester:

  • MECH 438: “Flawless Tubular Gluing Techniques” MWF 8-9am

  • ART 408: “When Bar Tape Becomes Art: includes Certification in Bar Tape Critique” Tu/Th 8am (uhhg!)

  • MECH 469: “Roadside Tubular Patching While Remaining Sartorially Elegant” Tu/Th 5pm

  • BUS 481: “Special Topics in Negotiations: Exuding Your Tubular Superiority Within Clincher Circles” MWF 1-2pm

  • TBD: Graduation Ceremony, Velodrome infield for all Masters in Bike Snobbery candidates.

Still not there yet. But I finally received my study materials and just in time for the Alps and the Pyrenees!
Reynolds DV46T UL wheelset weighed in a 1144 grams and was dated 2009-9-25 on the rim’s QA stickers.

Reynolds DV46T UL

Reynolds DV46T UL

Veloflex Extreme

Veloflex Extreme

Veloflex Extreme tread

Veloflex Extreme tread

Curiously, 1 of the 4 tubulars had a much longer value stem… odd.

Veloflex Extreme valve stems

Veloflex Extreme valve stems

I still have yet to complete my tubular installation classes (see schedule above) so I took them over to the local bike shop and handed them to the stocky old Frenchman with a booming, albeit raspy, voice who’s name matches the sign out front. Having and old salty Frenchman install my tubulars my not have the same inveiglement and romance as doing it myself, but I’m going to be heart-broken enough on Alp d’Huez, Tourmalet, and Aspin. The less drama the better. In fact, one of the sportives will cover some of the same roads as this famous incident, which I prefer to watch on TV (not recommended if you’re eating) or reenact with Playmobil sets (preferred), than to try it myself. It’s a nauseating portrayal of what can happen when you roll a tubular:
NC-17 Rated Version:
“G” Rated Version:
I’ll try not to do that. Although this blog might be more entertaining if I do. It’s a win-win, really.

Back to the updates:
The MCFK Carbon Saddle: 66 grams (actual, just as claimed).

MCFK Saddle

MCFK Saddle

Logged 1230km (700 miles) in 12 days on this. So far so good. The carbon has noticeable flex which can be induced simply by pressing a thumb or palm to the rear portion of the saddle. Cornering is very nice and controlled. Multiple seating options. The all-carbon design allows for easy micro-adjustments and does not feel too slippery in any way. Compared to the Tune Kommvor, it’s 37 grams lighter and softer than the Tune which does not flex at all. The small vinyl area on the back of the Komm-Vor didn’t really have any benefits for me.
Specs:
Tune Komm-Vor: 265mm x 125mm, 103 grams (claimed: ~98 grams) [weight limit 90kg]
MCFK Sattel: 260mm x 130mm, 66 grams (claimed: 66 grams) [weight limit 90kg]

MCFK Saddle

MCFK Saddle

MCFK Saddle (underside view)

MCFK Saddle (underside view)

MCFK Sattel (front view)

MCFK Sattel (front view)

MCFK Sattel (Rear view)

MCFK Sattel (Rear view)

This entry was posted in Equipment & Parts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Write a Comment

